May 2020 Voter Pamphlet

May 2020 Voter Pamphlet

Looking for information on candidates on your ballot? Well look no further. Below is a list of Democratic Candidates running for a position in Marion County: Candidates in Bold are endorsed by the Marion County Democrats.

Candidates with an * next to them are incumbent candidates. 

Please click the links of each candidate to find out more about them.

County and City Races

Not sure what ward you fall in for City council? Use this site provided by City of Salem.

Marion County Commissioner Position 3

Salem City Council Ward 1

Salem City Council Ward 3

Salem City Council Ward 5

Salem City Council Ward 7

Not sure what House or Senate District you are in? Use this site to find out.

United State Senate

United State Congressional District 5

Secretary of State

State Treasurer 

Attorney General

State Senate District 9

State Senate District 10

State Senate District 12

State Representative District 17

State Representative District 18

  • Jamie Morrison (no website currently available)

State Representative District 19

State Representative District 20

State Representative District 21

State Representative District 22

State Representative District 23

State Representative District 25

State Representative District 39

Precinct Committee people

What is a Precinct Committeeperson?

If you are a member of the Democratic or Republican party, you will receive a ballot with “Precinct Committeepersons” on it.

  • These are people who represent their political party in each precinct on a countywide “Central Committee”.
  • Precinct Committee people help set the party agenda and party platform.
  • They act as directors of the local party Central Committee, attend meetings of the committee, help candidates run for office, and conduct the business of the part. 
  • Central Committees elect people to represent the county at the state level, and those members select the representatives to the national committees.
  • Precinct Committee people also help select replacements for vacated state and county offices (Oregon House or Senate offices and Marion County Commissioners).

Voting for Precinct Committeepersons (PCPs):

To qualify as a Precinct Committeeperson (PCP), one must have lived in the county and have been registered in their political party for at least 180 days prior to the Primary Election. A person can represent the precinct in which they live, an adjacent precinct (within the same county) or another precinct within the same House District (within the same county). They serve a two-year term. 

A Committee person is elected in each precinct for every 250 voters ( or major part thereof) that are registered in the precinct as of September 11th (251 days prior to the Primary Election).

Your ballot will indicate how many offices are available in your precinct. For instance, it would say “Vote for Six” if there are six offices available for your ballot.

  • Where a candidate has filed, mark you selection like any other race.
  • If you want to write in a name that is not on the ballot, fill the box next to “Write-in”, then neatly write the person’s name of your choice on the line provided.
  • To be elected, a “write-in” candidate must:
  1. Receive at least 3 (three) votes from members of their party in that precinct
  2. And have filed an SEL 105D before 8:00PM on Election Night
  3. Or someone else needs to have filed an SEL 105N before 8:00 PM on Election Night
  • Only write-in candidates who have their name filed with the elections office by 8:00 PM on Election Night will have their names listed on the official results.

Official Marion County Ballot Drop Sites

The Marion County drop sites listed below will be open beginning April 29th. On Election Day, May 19th, drop sites will remain open until 8:00PM

You Do Not need to apply postage if you use an Official Marion County Drop Box

Salem & Keizer: 

  • Marion County Clerk
    • 555 Court St NE, Ste 2130, Salem 
    • By Appoint Only – May 18-19th 1st floor open

Hours: Monday-Friday 8:30am -5pm 

Election Day – May 19th 7am-8pm

  • Marion County Health
    • 3180 Center St NE Salem
    • Curbside Dropbox 24 Hours
  • Roth’s Fresh Market – Vista
    • 3045 Commercial St SE, Salem
    • Hours: Every day 6am-8pm
  • Roth’s Fresh Market Sunnyslope Shopping Center
    • 4555 Liberty Rd S, Salem
    • Hours: Every day 6am-8pm
  • Roth’s Fresh Market Hayesville
    • 4746 Portland Rd NE, Salem 
    • Hours: Every day 6am-8pm
  • Marion County Public Works
    • 5155 Silverton Rd NE, Salem
    • Hours: Monday-Friday 8am-5pm
    • Election Day – May 19th 8am-8pm
  • Keizer City Hall
    • 930 Chemawa Rd NE, Keizer
    • Curbside Dropbox 24 Hours
  • U.S Bank – Keizer
    • 5110 River Rd N, Keizer
    • Hours: Monday-Friday 9am-4pm
    • Temporarily closed due to COVID 19

South and East County

  • Jefferson Fire Department 
    • 189 N Main St, Jefferson
    • Hours: Monday-Friday 8am-4:30pm
    • Temporarily closed due to COVID 19
  • Turner City Hall
    • 5255 Chicago St SE, Turner
    • Hours: Monday-Thursday 8:30-5pm Friday 8:30am-12:30pm
    • Temporarily closed due to COVID 19
  • Aumsville City Hall
    • 595 Main St, Aumsville City Hall
    • Hours: Monday- Friday 8am-5pm
    • Temporarily closed due to COVID 19
  • Sublimity City Hall
    • 245 NW Johnson St, Sublimity 
    • Hours: Monday-Friday 8am-4:30pm
    • Temporarily closed due to COVID 19
  • Stayton Public Library
    • 515 N First St, Stayton 
    • Hours: Monday – Thursday 10am-7pm Friday: 10am-5:30pm Saturday: 10 am-4pm
    • Temporarily closed due to COVID 19
  • Stayton Roths’s Fresh Market
    • 1770 Shaff Rd, Stayton
    • May 18th and 19th from 6:00 am to 8:00 pm
  • Mill City -City Hall
    • 444 S 1st Ave, Mill City 
    • Hours: Monday-Friday 8am-5pm

North and Central County:

  • Donald City Hall
    • 10710 Main St NE, Donald 
    • Hours: Monday-Thursday 8am-4pm Friday: 8:30am-12:30pm
    • Temporarily closed due to COVID 19
  • Hubbard City Hall
    • 3720 2nd St, Hubbard
    • Hours: Monday-Thursday 7am-5:30pm
    • Temporarily closed due to COVID 19
  • Woodburn Public Library
    • 280 Garfield St, Woodburn
    • Hours: Curbside Dropbox 24 Hours
  • Gervais City Hall
    • 245 NW Johnson St, Sublimity
    • Hours: Monday-Friday 8am-4:30pm
    • Temporarily closed due to COVID 19
  • Mt. Angel Public Library
    • 290 E Charles St, Mt. Angel
    • Hours: Curbside Dropbox 24 Hours
  • Silverton – Lewis St. Parking Lot
    • 208 Lewis St and S 1st St, Silverton
    • Hours: Curbside Dropbox 24 Hours

Please note: The COVID-19 pandemic may affect the access, hours and availability of the drop boxes. 

Ballots for Marion County voters may only be issued by the County Clerk and staff 555 Court St NE, Suite 2130 (2nd Floor), Salem

State Ballot Drop Locator

The State of Oregon Ballot Drop Box Map provides a listing of all official ballot drop sites across the state. Just type in your current address and a list of drop sites close to you will appear along with the hours of operations and driving directions. You can find the locator at